Bands and Projects

Bands as leader:

Bévort 3
Known for her intense and creative approach to the saxophone, multi award-winning instrumentalist, composer and orchestra leader Pernille Bévort's trio project Bévort 3 was recently named 'Ensemble of the Year' at 2022's Danish Music Awards.
Their highly anticipated new record 'Northbound' is set to release on February 9th. 2024.

Pernille's trio Bévort 3 moves from the cool swinging to the bluesy and Nordic sounding in a sparkling trio format, which has earned them recognition both at home and abroad.
In this trio with Morten Ankarfeldt and Espen Laub von Lillienskjold, Bévort has found a forum where she can express herself freely and imaginative with her strong 'playmates' Morten Ankarfeldt on bass and Espen Laub von Lillienskjold on drums.

The trio has been diligent with the recordings in recent years. On Fire was released in 2021 and the live album 'Live 2020-2021' was released in 2022. Both albums were nominated for a Danish Music Awards Jazz as Release of the Year in 2021 and 2022.

Radio Bévort
Radio Bévort is a colorful ensemble where different nationalities, inspirations and instruments meet. The compositions are inspired by diverse genres of music and indeed by life itself.

In the music you can feel the flavor of tango and jazz and also find very free passages combined with very thoroughly written arrangements.
The band's line-up is rather unconventional with a rhythm section of drums, bass, guitar and accordion/piano combined with 4 woodwinds that "doubles". This combined with the different compositions and arrangements composed especially for this ensemble, gives the group a special sound with a timbre colored by the woodwind arrangements and the accordion/piano.

Pernille's latest release with Radio Bévort, BLIK (2020), was nominated for a Danish Music Awards Jazz in the cotegory Composer of the Year 2020.

In the line-up you find some of the best musicians on the Danish jazz scene of today:
Pernille Bévort: tenor- and soprano saxophone
Mariane Bitran: C flute and alto flute
Kasper Wagner: alto saxophone and clarinet (soprano saxophone)
Ole Visby: tenor saxophone and bass clarinet
Marie Louise Schmidt: piano
Morten Ankarfeldt: bass
Bjørn Heebøll: drums

Bands as side 'man':

Sisters of Jazz
Maluba Orchestra
Musik, Eventyr og Unoder

Other ensembles and albums